Here are some types of grief that may be felt:

  1. Divorce or breakup                                              
  2. Loss of health
  3. Losing a job
  4. Loss of financial stability
  5. A miscarriage
  6. Retirement
  7. Death of a pet
  8. Loss of a friendship
  9. Selling the family home
  10. A loved one's serious illness

The more significant the loss, the more intense the grief.  Grieving is a personal and highly individual experience.  How you grieve depends on many factors, including your personality and coping skills, your life experience, your faith, and the nature of the loss. There is no timetable for the grieving process.

The Stages of Grief:

  1. Denial
  2. Anger
  3. Bargaining
  4. Depression
  5. Acceptance

You don't have to go through each stage in order to heal.  These emotions should become less intense you accept the loss.  The sadness of losing someone you love never goes away completely, but shouldn't remain center stage.  You need to contact a therapist to help you process these feelings if you can't move on from the depression of a loss.  Left untreated complicated can lead to significant emotional damage, life-threatening health problems, and even suicide.  Treatment can help you get better! provides more information on this issue.